Vertical gas smokers. are they any good?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

roba22

Original poster
Jun 12, 2017
Ok first hello everyone!   I'm new to the smoking world so i have a lot to learn.   I have been using a modified old round brinkman vertical style grill/smoker.  I did a lot of the mods I found online to help it out but still I get flame ups and I have to baby sit the charcoal for the whole time.  it gets hot.  then cool.  then hot..  etc..    So to help make my life a little less stressful so I will keep enjoying this new hobby I have been looking at the vertical 2 door gas smokers.    The Char-Broil , the Masterbuilt 20051311 GS30D and the smoke hollow.   they all three look about the same in style and are close in price.   I have seen a few mods to the masterbuilt that can make it better but thought I would join this to get some serious feedback.    I want to stay under $200  would like to find something that is easy to control the temp.  (basically so i can sleep while it does it thing)  and I'm not looking to get all competitive.  just a weekender   for fun and family.  

Questions I have is...  because its vertical will the bottom meat get hotter then the top meat? cause it to dry out or char?   will the top meat get more smoke then the bottom meat.    

what are the disadvantages to this style?   not enough smoke flavor?  can't control the temp as well as you think?  cooks to hot or not a low enough temp setting?

Are they sealed up good?   hold in the heat and smoke?    

are they built good?   hold up well?  rust or have to have parts replaced.