Thinking of upgrading to RT 1250 from MES

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TShepp84

Original poster
Oct 30, 2019
I may finally be ready to pull the trigger on the 1250 that I’ve been scoping for 8 months 😬

I have a Weber Spirit for steaks, chicken, brats plus 40” MES with pellet tray I’ve used for a few years to do pork ribs and butts but not much else. The MES has served me well for learning basics and starting out but have lately been toying with the idea of “upgrading” to something new and have had my eye on Recteq for a while. My main complaint with the MES is having to mess around with making sure the pellet is set up right and stays lit and not being able to get higher temps to properly do wings or things like pizzas. I posted on the RT FB group and a few said “do it” while others said I might not gain much beyond what I can do today for such a bit expense. I know that with a pellet grill I might have to add smoke anyway and believe it’s easier to dry things out whereas the MES keeps a ton of moisture in it. I’d love to hear any feedback from experience in moving from a MES/vertical electric to pellet grill.

No experience with either, but now would be the time if you are going to take the leap, they are on sale.

Reactions: TShepp84
No experience with either, but now would be the time if you are going to take the leap, they are on sale.
I should have added that is why I’m considering the splurge right at this moment 😄

I have a mes 30 makes great food, then I got a pitboss pellet smoker/grill thinking it was an upgrade but as usual I was wrong yes it works fine, use a pellet tube for extra smoke but in my opinion it doesn't match up to mes. This is just my opinion, I have no experience with the req tec