Thermometer for Old Country Gravity Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bobbygrande13

Original poster
Jun 24, 2014
Salisbury, Maryland
I just purchased an Old Country Gravity Fed Smoker and I am trying to figure out whether to go with a 4-inch stem Tel Tru thermometer or a 6-inch stem. Any advice and tips will be appreciated!

Only had it three months now, but I like it a lot to this point. I'm still learning its quirks. It produces clean thin blue smoke. It holds steady temps. Its built like a tank. I haven't found much to not like.

I do wish I'd had them put in supports to raise the lower grate a few inches. My biscuit tests showed the lower grate may get too much radiant heat to be useful.

Reactions: bobbygrande13
Only had it three months now, but I like it a lot to this point. I'm still learning its quirks. It produces clean thin blue smoke. It holds steady temps. Its built like a tank. I haven't found much to not like.

I do wish I'd had them put in supports to raise the lower grate a few inches. My biscuit tests showed the lower grate may get too much radiant heat to be useful.
Thanks for the feedback. I am moving on from my Camp Chef pellet and I am looking for all that I hear a gravity smoker can do. Just hoping I do not experience any of the airflow issues some folks have noted.

Thanks for the feedback. I am moving on from my Camp Chef pellet and I am looking for all that I hear a gravity smoker can do. Just hoping I do not experience any of the airflow issues some folks have noted.