Selecting quality BBQ equipment (injector syringe, cooking racks, gloves, etc) -- Help wanted

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

diversification

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Mar 19, 2021
Hi there, I'm just getting into smoking, and it seems I could use a few tools.... and my family is demanding a gift wishlist (lol) so I'd appreciate some help identifying good accessories. The tools I'm thinking about currently are as follows:

1) Meat injector syringe. I've found these blog posts with recommendations. Do you guys agree with these, or would you recommend something else not listed?

2) Wire cooking racks. I've seen several people on YouTube use these wire racks that are wide enough to fit large cuts of meat on them, and make transportation to and from the kitchen a synch. Again, here are the blog post recommendations I found. Are these what you guys would recommend?

3) I need some insulated gloves for handling the meat as it's coming off the grill. What I see the guys on YouTube doing most of the time is putting on some sort of under-glove with some insulation, and then covering it with a latex or nitrile glove to keep the juices off if the non-waterproof glove below. Is this what you guys do? The ‘best’ lists I’ve listed below seem more focused on bulkier gloves that are extremely good at protecting against heat, but may hamper dexterity. Maybe that’s the right way to go, but it seems like perhaps there is a better compromise out there, especially for those of us with pellet grills who aren’t reaching into a firebox, or pulling out a burn tray mid-cook.