Long Time Lurker Finally Got around to Joining

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

darthsmoker

Original poster
Jun 27, 2017
Hello the Forum!

I have been Smoking in Western KS for many years and have drawn several awesome tips from this site.  Until very recently i have smoked on a chargriller 50/50 with side fire box.  I typically smoke Ribs (3-2-1) and Brisket and never have any complaints or leftovers.  I also attempt the occasional Salmon. 

While i loved the results with the side fire box i decided i needed more real estate and wanted something a bit more "set it and forget it" so last week i Purchased a Gen 1 MES 40 with the window and the digital controls.  Got a great deal at Academy Sports (199) so couldn't pass it up.  After the purchase i did a lot of research on here and though its bucking the AMZNPS trend around here i also purchased the masterbuilt cold smoking kit. 

Had a bit of a disaster this weekend with my inaugural smoke on the MES.  All turned out well enough (q view to follow) but it was a struggle to get there:

I decided to go big by doing Ribs, a pork butt, Salmon, and a couple of veggie items (obviously at different times)

First the good:

Big Thanks to Bearcaver and Mr. T for all the great step by steps! (used Mr Ts Salmon SBS and Bears Boston pork butt SBS)

the bad - Rain (not the end of the world), thermometer fail in mid smoke (doh! ivation from amazon DO NOT RECOMMEND), smoker temp fail (ordinarily overcomable but difficult without trust worthy thermometer),  cold smoke generator did not show up so struggled with feeding chips into "the hole"