Increase height of WSM from ground?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Chief 7

Original poster
Feb 28, 2024
I am an older retired firefighter with a bad back. Let's just say bending isn't what I do best or for very long. I was thinking of trying to increase the height of my WSM by, as a trial, setting it on a couple of cement blocks. Or, maybe someone on here has some experience making an adjustment / mod that would like to share their experiences.

Reactions: JLeonard
I'm sure they're several ways to boost it up. Add some legs or possibly a metal stand/table that you might have laying around. Here is another idea:

Reactions: Chief 7
Tomorrow we'll smoke a port butt but today I went ahead and am trying the cement block riser method. We'll see how this goes, but prepping it for the morning smoke was much easier. Here's a couple of pics right after we got it set up. Thanks for all of your comments.

Attachments

• IMG_7632.jpeg
    IMG_7632.jpeg
    250.3 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_7633.jpeg
    IMG_7633.jpeg
    259.6 KB · Views: 12
Amazing how just a few inches makes a big difference.
I don't have a WSM, but I use a Jumbo Joe for grilling most of our meals in the summer. I have it on a waist height table and that makes it so convenient.

Missed your opening post?
Thanks for your service. Father expanded and ran a volunteer FD for 25 years as Chief out of his 45 years of service. Skipped a generation as my son is full time FF/EMT.

• Love
Reactions: chopsaw and Chief 7
Amazing how just a few inches makes a big difference.
I don't have a WSM, but I use a Jumbo Joe for grilling most of our meals in the summer. I have it on a waist height table and that makes it so convenient.

Missed your opening post?