Help with buying a smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Davewalters

Original poster
Apr 26, 2018
Uk
hi guys and gals I’m very new to the world of smoking and to make it worse I’m from the uk ... I’ve got a grill/smoker the TEPRO 1087 long story short it’s rubbish ... I’m now looking for an upgrade only problem is like I said I’m from the uk and smokers are hard to come by
I’m basically asking for advice on what smoker to get At the min I really like the look of the Oklahoma joes highland ( but I’m concerned about now know how thick it is and if they hold heat )or the char griller Smokin Pro bbq They are both about the budget I have but are they any good? Or are the better smokers out there that I can get my hands on for the same sort of money ?? Any helpful advice would be amazing thanks people . Ps I’ve been looking at at this forum over the last week or so and it’s amazing keep up the good work

what is your heat source preference? wood, pellet, propane, answers would help with feedback.

ok charcoal, that's why you posted in this forum. Do you have a B&Q nearby, Looks like they have different sized Weber's online. or Amazon UK

more googling, BBQ barn in Kent if you are fairly close. you don't say your location, so I'm just guessing on location.

Last edited:
Hi thanks for the reply already. I want to use lumpwood and hardwood really and yes charcoal It’s an offset that I would really like if I’m honest.
I’m in Bicester Oxfordshire ..
there’s no b&q near me I think Do they have some good smokers in there
I don’t want /can’t spend lots of money and I’m very new to smoking so I just want something that I need to rob a bank for and that will actually work well, even if I have to mod it Cheers