Hello from Bend, OR!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kawaiichef

Original poster
May 8, 2020
Bend, OR
Hey, I’m MJ! (Yes, like from Spiderman, haha.) I’ve been lurking on the forums for a while, reading and learning a lot. I’m a professional ramen and pastry chef. I’m currently working from home writing a cookbook, making small batch orders for local customers, and recipe testing for (eventually) opening my own ramen shop. I got into smoking last year when I picked up a used offset charcoal smoker on a whim from Craigslist, used it all last Autumn and fell in love with the hobby.

After having pneumonia earlier this year (not related to the pandemic), I got all set up with a Hollow Tronix electric smoker, and a Traeger so I could continue my hobby without it being as tough on my lungs as managing charcoal or wood fire. Eventually once I have more land and can situate the smokers further from the house, I’ll likely get back to more traditional methods.

When I’m not in the kitchen or on the patio making food, I spend the rest of my time hanging out with my husband and 5-year-old, paddleboarding on the deschutes, gaming (mostly PS4), playing ukulele, illustrating/painting, and making craft cocktails. Excited to be here and learn more from those of you with much more experience!

Hello, MJ my name is Dan and I live in your States Communist Cousin to the south CA. :emoji_stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: