Have to log in each time I visit

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Feb 3, 2009
Central NY
Stating yesterday I now need to login every time I open SMF, even after I checked the stay logged in box. Is it just me?

You have my prayers Al, speedy recovery.

Chris

I'm not sure how my post to Al got in this thread, but I'm getting logged out when I hit the recent posts link again.

Chris

I have never used the login box before yesterday, but that is the only way I could get logged in. It's been keeping me logged in.

Last edited:
Same here. Whether on phone, laptop or desktop. Tried clearing and rebooting. Problem continues. Change page not logged to that page. Backup to previous page still logged in.
Now add while trying to post this reply from a phone error message appears "you need to log in to post", yet top of page shows being logged in.

Same here, and I had to log in again just to reply to this, after already being logged in about 5 minutes earlier. It seems erratic and unpredictable.

I can understand how the board administration doesn't want to have huge numbers of logins hanging open, but apparently they haven't figured out the details yet.

I also wonder, How many people have not been able to log in and tell us that they can't log in?

Sorta happens here too. Everyday lately I have to re-log. Once done I can go/do what ever and when I come back I'm automatically logged in. Next day, start over.
I know a few of the sites I frequent, anytime the tech folks go into the software to work on it or fix issues, everyone has to re-log. I've been writing all this off to up-dates.