First time Cold Smoking with A-Maze-N box - Temp question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Italbro

Original poster
Oct 6, 2017
Hi everyone,

Got a simple question for all your smokeaholic. This is my first time cold smoking and was wondering if just light up the A-Maze-N box for +- 12 hours, no other heat, will it be enough ?

I believe I will only reach temps of 60 degrees and is it enough to "cook" the meat ? I have no concern on the smoke flavors but really on the internal temp of the meat.

Thx!

Well if you're cold smoking, you're not actually "cooking" the meat. It's more of a preserving the meat thing.

Not sure what you're cold smoking though.

Reactions: JC in GB
Cold smoking BACON :)...and I know im not "cooking" it but was under the impression that meat as to reach a certain temperature.

Maybe I'm fine then and just using the heat and smoke from the a-maze-n box will do the trick.

Thx!

Of course, I usually cure and hot smoke...want to try cold smoke now.

AMNPS with pellets raises the temp of my MES30 about 20-25F... Using the Mail box mod... maybe 5-10F... Using pellets made into dust... maybe 0-5F... I like using the dust.. better flavor I think..

Of course, I usually cure and hot smoke...want to try cold smoke now.

You are good then. No temps to worry about. You will end up cooking the bacon after you slice it up anyways to get it up to temp so no need to hot smoke unless you just like to. I cold smoke all of my bellies for 12 hours. Usually get great smoke flavor! Let us know how it turns out