Charcoal & Wood or Just Wood?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ReelFaster

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 21, 2018
I see lots of folks getting the firebox going by getting some charcoal going 1st dumping it into the firebox and adding some wood on top. Is that just a preference Or the easiest way to get the fire going? Can you not just use all wood or do those coals really help with the temps. I am pretty new to wood smoking had an electric prior so this will be a new experience. Thanks in advance!

It depends on your smoker model, some are made to run on a combo of wood & charcoal, and some are designed to burn wood only.
You will get a better flavor with a woodburner, but wood & charcoal is a close second!
Al

Reactions: ReelFaster
Thanks Al, its an Okie Joe. By the desc it looks like it's a combo wood and charcoal. Thanks for the reply!

My opinion applys to stick burner only. In my pit charcoal is for start up only. Charcoal is long gone and wood has taken over and settled in temp wise a little above my cooking temp to compensate for opening lid and putting meat on. Make sure you have your heat controlled before you add what your cooking. What I mean by that is let your fire get good and hot and then start restricting air flow to bring it back down to a manageable temp. You will find once you have temp under control you will have a much smaller more controllable flame. Try not to let flame go out and add a little more wood when temp starts to dip. This will keep you with a good bed of coals and the smoke will remain cleaner during your cook. Again this is just my opinion and How I smoke with my cooker.