Brisket Disaster

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

valanze

Fire Starter
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Mar 30, 2015
Central Valley in California
So I have been smoking for many years and only tackeled a brisket twice including this time. I am completely unsure how to handle what I consider an unmitigated disaster. The wife and I decided for Christmas dinner lets be different we wanted brisket. So we headed to walmart dropped a little over a hundred for....aww crap I do not remember the poundage 10+ I believe.

I just finished trimming the fat and I would say that was at least 4lbs of pure fat. the problem is when I was trimming it and working on the connection between the round and flat it was mostly just fat. I ended up cutting the round off. When I surveyed the disaster of a brisket the flat is less than .5 inches thick. The round is maybe an 1.5inch and its thickest point but then just goes to paper thing towards the end.

So I am thinking a combination of terrible trimming skills and a horrible meat selection. I had planned to cook this low and slow at 220 at least 10+ hours. Now I have no idea WTF to do or how to even consider cooking this. Any advice? I would include pics but I already seasoned it and wrapped it in foil in my fridge. I know pics would of helped sorry they are missing I was just so frustrated with the whole experience.

help.....