• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scrumtiousruckingBBQ

Original poster
May 22, 2022
Hey beefers,
Just did my first beef smoke today. I’ve been smoking meat for about a year and have only done pork and chicken, so this was a new adventure for me.

Picked up 8lbs of beef ribs from a local butcher and dry brined them for about 16 hours in the fridge.
IMG_0650.jpeg

This morning I rubbed them down with Meat Head’s Big Bad Beef Rub and put them in the freezer for 45 minutes while I got the smoker set up
IMG_0651.jpeg

I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker that I got for free from a neighbor, and I’ve added a mailbox mod to it so I can mess with my pellet tray without opening the main door and losing all the painfully hard-won heat from its dinky little heating element. Today I used the water tray, which I normally just use as a drip pan. I also tried something new to try to get a smoke ring on these things, as I have yet to be able to get a smoke ring on any of my cooks so far. I loaded my pellet tray halfway up with pellets, and topped them off with oak chips.
IMG_0652.jpeg

Additionally, I lit some charcoal briquettes in a small aluminum tray and put them in the mailbox once they were ashy and white. The idea here was that charcoal briquettes supposedly put off more NO than wood chips or pellets, so I hoped the burning briquettes would help me get a smoke ring. More on that later…