Beaver cooked prior to grinding

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Trapper87

Original poster
Jan 28, 2024
I'm new to sausage in general. Been trapping beaver for the state for 3 years now. I always just made jerky or burger out of them.

You'd think theyd have a good yield. However a 50 pound beaver might yield 15 pounds of very lean beef like meat. However I would like to expand my repitore a bit and increase my yield.

I was thinking after breaking them down and vac sealing the carcass if they could be cooked sous vide then the cooked meat hopefully fall off the bone tender then ground course seasoned and then ground again to better distribute the seasoning before stuffing and then curing/fermenting and or smoking is possible?

Most recipes I find the meat is ground first then cooked.

Wonder if those with more experiance might have some ideas or recipes to try.

Reactions: JLeonard
Can't help you with the sausage making part of it but welcome from Iowa, stop over to roll call and introduce yourself there as well.
And now you have me craving some beaver meat!

Ryan

I dont think I would cook the meat then stuff for sausage. Process the meat and grind, if needed add some pork butt ground in the beaver. Mix is and use cure 1 and might not hurt to use some Trehalose to cut the game taste out. After mixing I would use some sort of colander so any blood drips out. Fridge the mix for couple days in the fridge......I did this when I ground Kudu and turned out really good for summer sausage.

Pre cooked meat will never bind in sausage mass. It will fall apart. Fresh grind for sausage, then cook down the rest for soups or stew but not sausage.

Reactions: DougE