Bacon Drippings ?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mosparky

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Aug 11, 2015
St. Louis area, Missouri
I'm just getting started trying to bake bacon. Experimenting with time and temps.
My question is whether the drippings are worth saving for seasoning.
It seems that not having the minute particles left from frying, the drippings would taste like little more than just grease or maybe lard.
So far my results are varied. I've been matching temps for other things that are being baked and changing up the time element. I am finding the times given in most on-line recipes are way off from my results.

The drippings from baked bacon is somewhat more mild in taste. But still well worth saving. I make both pan fried and baked and all the drippings get saved. The nice part is, without the Bits, the grease is more useful when sautéing vegetables and such as it does not burn as easily...JJ

Reactions: indaswamp
I save mine.
I have a Mason Jar I put it in and take it out of.
My wife prefers to Bake Bacon in the oven. I, on the other hand, prefer to fry my bacon.
Low, and slow.
Not popping all over the damn place.

Thanks guys. That didn't take long.
Y'all confirmed my suspicion. I seldom saut'e anything in drippings but rather melt dripping over veggies and such much like most would do with butter or margarine.
Thanks Chef for the note about not burning. Extra useful.
Maybe I need to keep separate containers for fried and baked drippings.

Something I’ve done when saving bacon grease is to put a coffee filter over the jar I’m putting grease into.