Any Welders/Metal fab individuals, Central AR, OC, DFW, Memphis areas?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

knightsilver

Fire Starter
Original poster
Mar 19, 2013
Redneckville Arkansas
Im still learning and still a smoking/grilling on a small portable grill, but Im learning,

My first fattie,

Oops, fish is a learning curve, bellow pic

Still Noob, but long time cook.

Im looking in Sept, maybe first part Oct, buying two 26" Weber Kettle grills and the 22" Weber Smokey Mountain.

Thats, $1000 cash, not counting tax and or shipping.

Ive looked at some custom manufacturers from Texas but they want $3000+ and in my opinion, over priced.

Ive got a simple idea for a simple large grill/smoker.

Ive got shop and manufacturing skills, but cant weld or a have a local shop.

If I can find the a somewhat local welder, with common sense, understand basic geometry and inst a educated dummie?

Last edited:
I bought a $90 Harbor Freight wire feed flux core welder.  That can handle welds up to 1/4" no problem.  If you want prettier welds you can spend $500-600 on a mig/tig welder.  Its not too hard to weld grill stuff.  Its not like it has to be as good as a ship hull.  If its ugly you can clean it up quickly with an angle grinder.  Just get some scrap metal & practice before you dive in.  There are videos on youtube that you can check out.

If you are just dealing with flat stuff metal fabrication isn't that difficult.  Just make it out of poster or card board first to get your measurements right.  You can order a welder on their site if you don't live near one of their stores.  If you are in a rural area I am sure Tractor Supply would have something around the same price.

Ive welded some, Ive got bright eyes, didnt care for it.