1st Brisket on a pellet grill, comparison to BGE XL

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

takeityeezy

Original poster
May 24, 2019
I purchased a GMG Boone Prime wifi last week and just smoked my first brisket. The brisket was a prime cut 15 pounder. I have done several briskets on my Big Green Egg over the years but I'm brand new to pellet smokers, thanks to a vacation rental that introduced me.

I used a Flame Boss wifi thermometer to track the temperature of the grill and brisket. What I noticed with the GMG is that temp fluctuates quite a bit. I would see spike/dips above/below my set temperature. Average cycle was about 12 minutes between high and low before the grill would come up again (pic here). Throughout the process the temperature reading on the grill was within 5-8 degrees of the set temp, but the grill would most display the desired set temp of 225. I was using GMG Texas blend pellets, ambient temp was 85 degrees, and the grill was out of the wind. My BGE barely fluctuates during long smokes, if it goes beyond 5 degrees either way its a surprise. I used the same probe to monitor the GMG and BGE and placed it in a similar spot (middle, just behind brisket). See pic from last BGE brisket, done at 45 degrees ambient temp with 50/50 hickory lump charcoal and hickory chunks.

Has anyone else monitored their GMG during a long smoke and if so, did you see major temp fluctuations? I'm looking for someone that used a 3rd party probe as the GMG display was not accurate.