12-14 lbs turkey Pellet grill/smoker temp?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

beerface

Original poster
Feb 15, 2017
I have a Green mountain Grill (basicly same as a traeger pellet grill). This thanksgiving I am going to do a 12-14 lb. turkey on it. Im going to brine it the night before. Then I was going to try this recipe
http://blog.greenmountaingrills.com/smoked-holiday-turkey/
To sum up the question, I just want to make sure I dont wind up with rubbery skin and or over smoke flavored turkey. That recipe is calling for 1.5 hours at 335, then lower to 195 for 6-7 hours, while basting it every hour. This seemed like a little bit too low of a temp to me, but I have never done a turkey on a pellet grill before.
Do these temps sound good to get it done correctly and not have rubbery skin and way too much smoke flavor?

My understanding of pellet grills is there is little to no smoke after 300. At 335; I don't see anything happening as far as smoking goes. Then 195 is a definite temp to make rubbery skin. The recipe I use calls for about an hour at 205 for smoke flavor & desired color than crank the grill up to 325 for 2 - 2 1/2 hrs to crisp the skin. I'm sure others will be along with other options but the temps you have listed; just don't seem right to me.

Last edited:
They didnt seem right to me either. Is there a formula to follow for for per pound and hours? at some good temps to NOT get rubbery skin?