Smoker suggestions around $1K?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ekill13

Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Mar 29, 2018
Okay, I've been smoking meat for a few years now. I started with a MES. I upgraded to a pellet smoker, and I have smoked indirect on my Weber kettle. That said, I'd like something that I can smoke on in the rain, which I can't do with the pellet smoker or MES, for obvious reasons, that has fairly decent capacity, which when set up indirect the kettle really doesn't.

Like I said in the title I'm looking to spend no more than around the $1K mark, although I could go to around $1,200. Regardless, the cheaper the better, but I want good quality.

I also want the real wood/charcoal taste. So, I've been thinking about a few options. I thought of a WSM or a Drum, but I like having a door and being able to see what's going on with all my meat without having to take the top rack with meat out. I'm sure they cook great, but they're not really what I'm looking for.

I thought about a Weber Summit Kamado, but I'm not sold on it for a few reasons. First, in researching, I've come to the conclusion, although purely based on what others have said, that the smoke flavor from a kamado, because of limited airflow, is either fairly weak or somewhat acrid because you tried to put too much wood. Does that seem accurate? The other concern I have with it is capacity. When I smoke meat, since I don't get to as much as I like, I generally want to smoke a decent amount of food to freeze. I might want to smoke a brisket, a pork butt or two, and maybe some ribs. Would that all fit on a 24" kamado?