New to smoking brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SmokeyJeremy101

Original poster
Apr 14, 2020
Middletown, CT.
Hey everyone,
I'm new to smoking brisket and I need some advice from my fellow smoking brethren. I have brisket flat that is roughly 5 lbs. I also have a charcoal grill/smoker combo where the grill is directly above the charcoal which can be raised and lowered to some extent. I have a rub picked out. My main questions for you all are: one, how should I arrange the coals underneath? Off to one side or evenly over the bottom? Keep in mind that the grill/smoker is fairly small, so I'm not sure if putting the coals off to one side would really make a difference given the size of my grill. Two, what temperature should I smoke the flat at? Three, how long do you think it's going to take a five pound flat to finish properly? Four, to ensure that the flat does not dry out, should I smoke it in a pan with beef broth?
I believe you're supposed to wrap the flat at 165 and pull it at 205, checking the tenderness first of course. I was planning on using cherry wood to smoke with and use a homemade ginger brew BBQ sauce on top. Do you think the ginger brew BBQ sauce is going to complement the brisket or or mask the brisket flavor too much?
Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.