Maiden cook on my stickburner - gotchas?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

WarrenWood

Original poster
Feb 21, 2020
Hot Springs Village, AR
Hello, everybody!

On Saturday I'll be doing the first cook on the OK Joe Longhorn Reverse I bought last November (family issues then winter weather delayed me.) I was able to get a good, local source of white oak firewood and I bought a decent moisture meter to check the seasoning. Moisture on the splits as of today is between 15-18%, measured on all exposed sides.

This is my first time cooking on a stick burner, so I'm looking for any advice on changes to my techniques. Going to do a couple of 8.5 lb pork shoulders (they tend to be forgiving), maybe a rack of BB ribs to snack on. On my WSM, I would cook a pork shoulder like this:
  • KBB charcoal, three fist-sized chunks of Fruitawood peach. The charcoal is in a ring, the Fruitawood burns sequentially through the first 4 hours.
  • About 5 hours into the cook, when the IT is stalling, I move the pork shoulder into a deep roast aluminum pan. I add a splash of apple juice and wrap over with aluminum foil. My objective is to avoid oversmoking, and of course shorten the stall.
  • Remove from heat when the IT is 200 degrees. Wrap the pan in a beach towel and put it in a cooler for a two hour rest.
  • Serve. Bask in the "oohs" and "ahhs" from my diners. :emoji_wink:
Thinking about Saturday, here are my plans:
  • Use charcoal to start up the smoker and get a coal bed going. Add a single oak split and target the temp for 250-275.
  • Add the pork.