First Pork Butt and charcoal trouble

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

CharlotteLovesFood

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Apr 30, 2018
England
So this morning I was up at 4am in preparation to cook my pork butt. I'd ran out of my Weber charcoal briquettes but had some lump wood I'd managed to find in a local shop.
Well....haha that is when everything went wrong! So I've never used lump wood before, I'm new to grilling full stop...the lump wood seemed a bit on the small side to me (not that I know what it should look like) these were roughly 1-2 inches. Filled my chimney starter, they went a crazy snap crackle and pop for a good while to the point where I was hesitant to get close until they had fully calmed down. Once they had, I lifted my chimney and majority of them fell on the floor, I shovelled them up and tossed them in the fire box anyway. Of course being small they all fell through the fire grate and burned really quickly. I managed to find about 6 briquettes knocking around...so until someone could drop off more briquettes I used these to help keep temp up and kept topping up with the cheap lump wood. I was using apple chips today in foil as I found them in my pound store and couldn't resist.