Brisket flat for chili

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

OldSmoke

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Sep 5, 2020
Oregon
Originally I was going to use a point, but they were out and busy at the butcher shop, so I brought home a seven pound flat. I cut it in half for the chili, and so it would fit my smoker. And, I would have a backup plan if I had a failure since this is my first try with brisket.

I rubbed it the night before with a salt and pepper coffee rub. This is the stuff I use on my jerky and I love it on beef.

2997D76B-566E-4A46-A2F7-268EF32084AF.jpeg
73957594-98AE-4E1C-AD69-6C0AEBB6135A.jpeg

I set the smoker at 250 with hickory and water in the pan. It stalled at about 155. At 170, I wrapped it with some beef broth. At 195 I started probing. At 205 I uncovered it to set the bark. It was pretty moist from the foil. At 207 I pulled it and let it rest. I would like a bit more pink, but it tastes great and passed the Mrs. Smoke test. I had to shoo her away to save some for the chili. Just slightly dry. Next time I may pull a bit earlier. It won’t be a problem for the chili this time though.

It took forever. About eight hours which seems high for this size which is just over three pounds. Is that normal?

C0722AF8-872F-4FAE-91A4-17B017C5170C.jpeg

Thanks for the ideas and help everyone has offered, now I need to make the chili! If I don’t get the brisket into the chili soon, there won’t be any left.