Where to measure 225 temp?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

I3acon

Original poster
Apr 1, 2018
Hey Folks,
Total beginner here. Just bought a Weber 22" to use for smoking and grilling, figuring it's a good entry level grill to get my feet wet. Anyway, everyone says the perfect temperature to smoke at is 225 degrees. However, I'm not entirely clear on WHERE I should be correctly measuring the temp. When setting up my Weber for indirect grilling/smoking, the dome temperature gauge is directly above the coals. So if I go by the dome temperature, then the temp where the meat is at is 100+ degrees lower. If I go by the grate temp where the meat is at, then the dome temp is 100+ degrees higher. I attached a picture for reference.

Couple of questions based on this...
1) Is it normal to have ~100 degrees difference from the dome temp over the coals to the opposite side grate level?
2) Where should I be looking to monitor the 225 degrees...dome or grate?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• bbq.png
    bbq.png
    167.6 KB · Views: 54
I'm no expert but I installed a temp gauge about 3 inches above the food grate on my OK Joe. My top gauges read 75 degrees hotter than the grate.

You need to put your temp probe a couple of inches away from the meat at grate level.
Forget about the dome temp.
Al

225* may be tough to maintain in a Kettle for a longer smoke. I usually shoot for 250* and either use the side baskets or the snake method. And yes forget about your dome therm.

Chris

"Eve Ryone" is wrong. It totally depends on what you are cooking.
I'm a smoker, not necessarily a cooker.
When it calls for a temperature, for an amount of time, I follow that.