Water Pan Rusted

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

OldNSlow_USMC

Original poster
Dec 29, 2020
Hello! I have a Masterbuilt MES 140/S, model number: MB21072719 smoker. Unfortunately, I have neglected the water pan and it is now rusting. My first course of action was to check for a replacement pan, but have come up empty so far. So, is there a way to treat the rust and apply a protective coating (paint) that is food safe? This is the pan that filled with apple juice. Any recommendations on food safe paints?

Reactions: JLeonard
I’m new to the forum, but I would say disposable disposable aluminum is definitely sufficient. If you are set on wanting to do something stainless, take a look On Amazon or elsewhere for a restaurant 1/6th pan or 1/9th pan. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to share the link here but mods if this isn’t allowed just let me know and I’ll take it down immediately.
Winco Anti-Jamming Steam Pan, 1/6 by 4-Inch, Standard Weight

Reactions: HalfSmoked
Unless you boil this pan past the point of dry, the inner surface will not exceed 212F. Just about any spray paint will work just fine, prevent further rust, and not outgas after initial drying/curing. The typical acrylic or enamel spray paint is considered hygienic grade in the food industry because after drying/curing they can be wiped clean with typical ammonia or bleach disinfectants without breaking down.