Temperature Problema

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

LeoBrBbq

Original poster
Nov 2, 2023
Hello Guys…

I’m a newbie owner of a pit boss 6 pro series… vertical and I’m trying to smoke some things, but I’m facin problems with the temp…..

I set for 175°, the smoker turns on, fecha that temp and remains for at least one hour… all of the sudden the smoker goes wild…. Variating between 100 and 400…

I don’t now what to do here… I think it’s the pellets…. As per attached photo, this is what’s going on on firebox….

Can u guys help me out here?

Attachments

• IMG_6660.jpeg
    IMG_6660.jpeg
    324.8 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_6661.jpeg
    IMG_6661.jpeg
    367.6 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_6662.jpeg
    IMG_6662.jpeg
    174.6 KB · Views: 38
Is this in your first cooks?
The control temp probe should be cleaned after each cook Also. My PB1150 temp bounces around when I neglect to clean it.

l have no experience with that cooker but is it a good idea to block airflow at the bottom like that?
Perhaps a smaller drip pan that allows a more open smoke path from the bottom to the top?

Welcome to the forum, Leo. I'm not the one to help but I agree with Chas. That drip pan look like it is blocking air flow.

That fuel pile appears to be a lot of crumbles and dust as one finds in the bottom of the bag.
Pit Boss pellets by any chance? That may be a contributor to the temp swings.

Welcome to the forum Leo

Hello Guys, Weell First of all, Thanks for the welcoming ans your responses!

Let me Try to anwser all the point here: