Smoking my first turkey...my plan... Can I get some thoughts?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mdbannister

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Dec 5, 2017
Hi everyone, I'm trying to smoke my first turkey for Thanksgiving (I know, I know...bad idea to make my first attempt on a holiday...). I should say that I'm new to smoking turkey, but not new to smoking other meats. So...hopefully experience with other stuff counts for somethin... :emoji_upside_down:

My biggest concern is that I've been staring at a bunch of different cooking methods and recipes now, and so I'm wondering if my plan is workable or if I'm overdoing (or underdoing) some things.

Now...here's my plan...

- Dry brine with kosher salt + cajun seasoning for about 24-36 hours.
- Season the bird (should I rub with butter or oil?)
- Inject with Tony Chachere's injectable cajun butter marinade (my grandfather always uses this when he fries turkeys and the flavor is amazing)

Creole-Style-Butter-17oz-website.jpg

- Mount bird on rack
I bought one of these racks

71WNkHRH32L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

I'm planning to put coca cola, onions, celery, and cajun seasoning in there.

- Smoke at 275 until around 157-158 in my MB800. It'll just be an open smoke as I'm not planning to foil anything (going for crispy skin).
- Pull it, rest it (for 30 minutes), and carve. :-)

Now...what am I missing? Thoughts?

Reactions: joefrommi
I think you want about 165 IT for breast and 170-175 IT for legs and thighs.
If breast is getting done sooner than legs/thighs you can put foil on the breast to slow it's cooking.

How big of a bird? Probably will not get crispy skin at 275. I would spatchcock the bird and skip this: