Restoring a Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rustbucket

Original poster
Jan 11, 2024
Hello everyone,

I have a Masterbuilt Electric Smoker that my family has had for a few years now. It uses a wood pellet system. The smoker overall is in pretty bad condition. It works but it's not clean. What can I do to restore it/prevent this from happening in the future? I have put it inside my garage and hope to start cleaning it very soon. I have only smoked some stuff before with family but other than that I do not know much about it.

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_9025.JPG
    IMG_9025.JPG
    294.2 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_9026.JPG
    IMG_9026.JPG
    212.3 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_9027.JPG
    IMG_9027.JPG
    148.9 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_9028.JPG
    IMG_9028.JPG
    205.5 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_9024.JPG
    IMG_9024.JPG
    272.5 KB · Views: 31
Looks like a MES30 gen1. With all that rust inside, I don't know what you can do to make it safe enough to run. Hopefully someone will chime in with salvage ideas.

I’d suggest you poke around with a screw driver and see whats left for tin. Flip it upside down and remove the 6”X6” inspection panel on the bottom and see if water has gotten into the electrical components.

Reactions: chopsaw
If you have the means. You could try sand blasting with walnut shells, and see if it's worth saving.

Chris

Howdy RustBucket, and welcome to the group from New Mexico.

Some general tips...

First off, clean/scrape/wire brush all the rust/junk off.
Then see if it is salvageable as others have said. i.e. no thin spots or holes.
You may be able to put a new metal plate over it if the bottom is unsalvageable.

Use rust remover if light sanding won't do the trick.