Ready for an upgrade!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

theyankeesmoker

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 27, 2017
Fairfield, CT
It's been a while since I've been here. So I've mastered smoking sea, air, and land (salmon, trout, chicken, duck, beef, and pork). I've been using a OKJ dual fuel for about 5 years now, and it's starting to show age.

I'm ready to drop some dough within reason. Debating on old country brazos, or a yoder (either Wichita, or beast it out with the Durango, and upgrading the firebox).

Many folks already have great things to say about about brazos. But I didn't see much about the Wichita or Durango. What's everyone's opinion on the latter two? Should I stick with brazos, or spoil myself with the higher end?

And to be clear, I am not a pellet guy. I like the smokey flavor. The few times I had pellet smoked food, it was lacking smokey flavor. I understand the convenience, but I like using the excuse of "I have to smoke dinner tonight so I can't (insert annoying chore here)" line.

Reactions: JLeonard
I like using the excuse of "I have to smoke dinner tonight so I can't (insert annoying chore here)" line.
🤣
I’m not familiar with the Yoder or brazos.
When I was shopping for a new stick burner I was sold on getting a Lang 36”. The reviews were great, 36” seemed plenty big for me and the price was in my budget. In my research I stumbled upon HBT. Here I was able to get a 60” with a rib box for the price of the 36” Lang. I didn’t like the diamond plate steel of the HBT but learned they would build it from 1/4 inch smooth steel for the same price. After many phone calls to both Lang and HBT I ended up ordering the HBT Deluxe, still a little uncertain why I needed that much smoker real estate.