High-end pellet grill rec?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Stickman99

Original poster
Mar 26, 2024
Hi folks
Noob from NorCal here - my first post.

I've been running a Klose offset 20x36" since 2002, but recently a friend gave me his old entry-level Traeger when he upgraded. Now the flavor from the Traeger is not as good as from on the Klose for sure - I'd say it is only 70-80% there. But the work is SO much less! As I've gotten older and busier that is more important.

Upshot - after 22 years, I am ready to move from the Klose to a pellet grill. My good lady wife has said I can have a pretty decent budget :-)

So I am looking at the following grills: Mak II stainless, P+S Maverick 2000 stainless, or LSG 20x36".

Some concerns I had with each:

Mak II looks maybe a little small?
Maverick has no cold smoke feature
LSG could possibly rust?

Thoughts? Any other brands/models I should consider?

Many thanks!
Ramsey

I think any grill can rust, even SS. I've seen it at weld spots. Just not near what a painted surface could have.

Keeping it covered should minimize chances of rust.

I have the LSG 20x42. It is USA made.
Thick metal. It weighs about 450 pounds (204 kilos)
I had though the Fireboard controller was going to be the best out there.
But it has it's quirks.

Does a good job overall.

If you get the LSG, I'd recommend a few accessories:
1) Larger wheels. Comes with 5" I went with the 8". Makes it easier wheeling over cracks in sidewalks.
----If you have a rough area to navigate, you may want the off-road wheel kit.
2) Cover. To keep grill away from weather. Expensive, but a good quality custom cover.