Problems and solutions with masterbuilt smokers

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Jonok

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 4, 2019
Michigan, and points north
50BD28EB-50BE-4081-8011-C5D37BEFFF1E.jpeg
B5073252-CDCD-4C47-9E75-DE6E8623A4BF.jpeg
0B46C5BB-5A9B-4460-8BED-4EB673C1B217.jpeg
So I have been smoking enthusiastically for 15 years or so, and about 10 years ago I got my first Masterbuilt (and fortunately also bought the Sam’s Club 3 year extended warranty).

I’m currently on smoker #3, and still going strong, all for the original $250 plus a few bucks for price increases between models.

The first two ultimately failed in the same way: The cabinet rusted out around the chip loader hole, and one lead to the element ultimately burned off.

I was never happy with the amount of smoke produced with a “load” of chips (as compared to my side stick burner), which necessitated multiple trips outside to put in another handful in order to get a decent amount of smoke on the meat before it heated up enough that it wouldn’t take anymore.

The grease from even a couple of good-sized butts would overflow the drip pan and run all over my driveway, and dumping out the oval water pan ruined at least a couple pairs of jeans.

I found, early on, that taking the water pan out, and replacing the bottom rack with a disposable foil pan helped, but it didn’t solve the paucity of smoke issue.

Several friends and I recently went in on a new one that we keep down at the shop, and, prior to our first cook, we decided to solve as many of these problems as we could.

We removed the smoke-generating apparatus entirely, insulated and blocked the hole with metal covers.