OTS (Off The Shelf) and super cheap UDS Build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wh1skey6

Original poster
Oct 26, 2012
Spokane, WA
Hi everyone,

After reading and reading and some reading, I was going to buy a WSM 22.5". That was, until my wife said "pool table or smoker, but you're not getting both...unless you plan on sleeping on the pool table". (For the record, I said I'd sleep under the pool table, not on it).

Anyhoo, I am going to build a UDS instead. I am fairly handy with tools, but I'm a computer geek by trade (although my entire family are hanymen/women, electricians, mechanics, welders, etc). My goal is to find as many off the shelf items as possible to limit the chances I am going to f something up.

Questions:

1) How necessary is the ball valve? I mean, you're going to need at least ONE intake open or the fire would suffocate. I'm guessing it would always be left wide open. I was going to drill 3 more intake vents and cover them with magnets. Isn't one always open good enough?

2) Magnets: I hear they lose their magnetic properties after so long. Or they melt. True?

3) Firebox: Expanded steel is pricey ($20 for 24" x 24" at Home Depot). I found an egg basket online that is roughly the same dimension as a firebox for $15 shipped. I was thinking I could just burn off the plastic crap and put some screws on as feet. Thoughts?

3a) Any other ideas for making a firebox without expanded steel? My company has a ton of excess wire mesh. Is that strong enough? I have the grill and charcoal grate from a knock off Weber Smokey Joe kettle I bought at Value Village for $10 that I could use.