New MES and Boston Butt

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

radman smoker

Original poster
Dec 5, 2018
I am going to put my new MES 130-B into use this weekend. Will do the curing / initial 3 hour heating tonight and the put on a Boston Butt tomorrow morning around 6. I will be using an Amaz-N-Maze as well.

I have smoked numerous boston butts on my old Brinkman electric smoker so I am not a total newbie. However, I do have a couple questions.

Do you remove most of the fat cap prior to smoking? My historical practice has been to apply mustard and then rub over the entire butt and then remove the fat cap after the cook has been completed.

I plan to place a pan on the shelf below the shelf the butt is on to catch the grease and drippings. If the pan takes up most of the shelf space should I fold the edges inward to allow the smoke more room to move around?

Any upfront suggestions or concerns? I plan to start the break in process around 6pm this evening.

Few things:

Fat caps is personal taste, i do my trimming prior to the smoke. Alot easier to me, and it allows more rub to penetrate the meat it self.

And as you just got the MES, do not fill the water pan with water. Don't fill it at all, just line it with tin foil for easy clean up..or, use it to catch the grease and drippings.

As for concerns, just be aware the MES built in thermal probes can be quite off, always verify with an independent probe and good luck!

Reactions: radman smoker