My take on stall

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fencesitter

Original poster
Dec 9, 2009
San Francisco, CA
Let me expound on my theory of stall here since this would have been a bit off topic for a different post I made. I'm sure someone here can correct me if I'm completely wrong.

Me, I like to think of a stall as a culinary phase change- add heat to ice from a deep freeze and it'll stall at 32F as it makes the phase change from solid to liquid. There's something in the meat that also undergoes something like a phase change around that 150 degree mark. It might not be a complete change from a solid to liquid, but maybe something more like a glass transition change (really, I'm not a materials scientist). It could be the fat (mmmmm.... fat), it could be the connective tissue breaking down, I don't know.

Actually, my first comparison wasn't a water phase change but more like with candy making. Your sugar water solution easily gets to a boiling point, but keep boiling it and with more time and more heat it'll make it to the various stages- soft ball, hard ball, crack, etc. and it stalls many times along the way. It's still the same ingredient- sugar and water- but the crystalline structure keeps changing at each point.

Meat is the same way- keep adding heat and you can do some wonderful things to it. The trick is in adding the heat slowly enough to let it do its work while adding it fast enough to get done in a reasonable amount of time. The way we do that is by adjusting the temperature we're cooking at. But it's still really the application of heat, not keeping the oven at a given temperature.