Major temp drop post crutch - why??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Daebado

Original poster
Nov 26, 2018
So, I'm still fairly new to smoking but I've done a whole packer brisket once, ribs a couple of times, wings several times and had good luck with all of them. I'm using a gas Smoke Hollow smoker if that matters. This was my first attempt smoking a pork shoulder and I decided to try the Texas Crutch for the first time to reduced cooking time and get past the stall.

My smoker kept a fairly even 225-230 degrees despite it being a very windy day. When the meat reached 150 degrees, I wrapped the shoulder in foil and put it back in. I watched as the temp climbed nice and slow up to 186 where I took it back out of the foil and placed it back in the smoker to firm up the bark (I got this idea from several websites). Once I did this, the temp started dropping about 1 degree every two minutes for the next hour. It finally stabilized at 156... only 6 degrees higher than when I wrapped it!! What's worse was, now I had to go through the stall again! This time, though the stall happened at a higher temp (right around 180 if I remember correctly) even though I raised the smoker temp to about 235. It stayed at this temp for almost two hours and I got worried that my pork was drying out so I re-wrapped it and stuck it back in and was finally able to finish it. 8 lb shoulder took 18 hours!!