Huge temperature fluctuations in my masterbuilt propane smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Travereno

Original poster
May 17, 2020
Hello everyone. I am a long time reader of this forum and a first time poster. I have a Masterbuilt mb20050211 propane smoker. I've had it for almost a year and have always had temperature issues with it. So far the mods I've made are:

Using an 8" cast iron pan on top of the stock chip pan

Replaced the stock water pan with a disposable catering tray

I'm also using a Bluetooth thermometer to monitor the temp

No matter how hard I try, I cannot keep the temperature stable. For example, if my target is 225, I will preheat and it will hold for a bit, but then the temp will shoot up after cooking for a bit, sometimes to over 260 or more. Then it becomes a constant battle of adjusting the knob and cracking the door to lower the temperature, only to have the temperature fall to under 200. Its a vicious cycle. My smokes generally are successful but I shouldn't have to keep going out and messing with the smoker every 10 minutes to get my meats to cook at the right temp. Overnight smokes are pretty much impossible unless I set an alarm every hour. I'm suspecting the wood chips are burning too fast/hot but I'm not sure whats normal and whats not. Are there other mods or suggestions I can do to the smoker to help stabilize the temperature? Or am I doing something wrong? Any and all help is really appreciated.

You should try and get something like an inkbird that will chart the temps and leave it unless it spikes to 300. Id be curious if it goes 225 to 260 then down once the chips are gone or something else.