Help please

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mtorts

Original poster
Jan 15, 2015
Windsor Ontario
Hey guys I made my annual patch of Italian salami last night (100lb) it is all seasoned and mixed ready to be stuffed today. The problem is that while being very sleep deprived I accidentally used cure 1 instead of cure2. This sausage does not get smoked it dries for a few months. My question is what do I do now. Should I still add the 4oz of cured 2?? Is there any danger to doing this. Will it make my sausage a lot more salty.

I am new to this, so others will know more. Cure 1 is sodium nitrite at 6.25% per pound of salt. Cure 2 is sodium nitrite at 6.25% and sodium nitrate at 4% in 1 pound of salt. If you add cure 2 now, you will double your nitrites.

Ya that's what I figured. I actually just called the butcher shop they said to leave it as is and it should be fine. Still worries me though

I don't really understand it yet, but I think the addition of nitrates acts as an extended release so salami, ham, etc can be aged long term. Not to say your butcher is wrong, but I would get a second opinion. I may be overlooking something, but you should err to side of caution. Botulism is nothing to play with, and it's growth in food is retarded to safe levels by using cures correctly.

What kind of casings are you using or better yet...how long do you estimate the drying will be? For small hog casing I would just go ahead and hang to dry if I were you.