First attempt at Pork Belly Burnt Ends

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Colt66

Original poster
Jun 11, 2018
Wapwallopen, PA
Hey there everybody. This weekend I attempted to do some pork belly burnt ends. Still very new to smoking, I had never even heard of these until a few weeks ago but I cant imagine anything more enticing than thick chunks of bacon meat smoked and then slow cooked in a bath of buttery sweet/spicy goodness. Some friends and myself agreed that they came out pretty damn good. I mixed my own rub (just basically smokey and sweet mixture w/ a touch of cherry) and smoked them on my Oklahoma Joes offset with some chunks of hickory. I had some issues getting the temp right for the first 30 minutes or so (I'm still a newbie ha) but I let them smoke for about 2.5 hours and put them in a pan with honey, brown sugar, hot pepper jelly, and some chunks of butter and let em go for another 1.5 hours. Then I uncovered them and let em sit for about 10 more minutes. I think they came out pretty good and I took some pics to show you guys.
IMG_2958.jpg
IMG_2960.jpg
IMG_2961.jpg
IMG_2962.jpg

IMG_2963.jpg