Father's Day Prime Rib

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dgsmokes

Original poster
Mar 11, 2016
Irvine, CA
So this Fathers Day I am going to be smoking the most expensive meat I have purchase to date. A 4 Bone Prime Rib. I have a Masterbuilt, and while it is fantastic for temperature control (actually cooks things a bit fast sometimes), it never seems to do well creating a crust, or bark. I have even resorted to finishing most meats on the grill for a RS. In any case, this is one I can't get wrong, so I wondered if any of you running electric smokers, especially the Masterbuilts, have overcome this, and what your solution was?

(Likely will make a separate thread of my brisket troubles)

Thanks!

So this Fathers Day I am going to be smoking the most expensive meat I have purchase to date. A 4 Bone Prime Rib. I have a Masterbuilt, and while it is fantastic for temperature control (actually cooks things a bit fast sometimes), it never seems to do well creating a crust, or bark. I have even resorted to finishing most meats on the grill for a RS. In any case, this is one I can't get wrong, so I wondered if any of you running electric smokers, especially the Masterbuilts, have overcome this, and what your solution was?

(Likely will make a separate thread of my brisket troubles)

Thanks!
MES are Great for Prime Rib, and very Easy.

Here are two of my favorites----One in a Pan, and one not in a Pan.

These are in Step by Step form:

Smoked Prime Rib (47th Anniversary Dinner)
I've been doing most of them in a pan lately, including one I did today, but that one won't be posted for a day or two.
Bear

Thanks Richie!!