Anyone else experience this with brisket and any good fix?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Gambit724

Original poster
Dec 9, 2020
Hey everybody!

I'm new here.

My last brisket i wrapped in butcher paper at 165.. at 195 i started probing for feel.

i found that after making the holes in the butcher paper for the handheld probe (i already had one in there from my thermapro monitoring internal temp) I simply could not get the beef to 203. Not sure if the holes in the butcher paper could have been letting out that much heat.

I am not experienced enough to know perfectly when the brisket is ready.. there was not a lot of resistance on the probe after the butcher paper but i would have been more comfortable having gotten the meat to 203... im not quite sure if it was warm stick of butter soft.

1.) has anyone else experienced the brisket sticking at 198?

2.) if you are going to wrap in a cooler after to hold, do you pull it early?

Thanks all! =)