• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

robviously

Original poster
Sep 2, 2023
Hello everyone,

I am a chef from New Jersey who is smoking brisket for the first time for a Labor day event for 250 people. Brisket is one of the items on the buffet so I smoked 4, 13-15 lb. briskets to 130 F on the point, and 150 F on the flat for approximately 7 hours at 225-240 F with hickory in the smoker. There was a water pan in the smoker and I made sure to mist the meat with extra water. The bark is nice and peppery, crusted, sealed and super smoky, but I feel like the meat still need more time to cook and tenderize. I don't want to disrupt the bark and I want optimal texture without drying out the meat.

My questions are concerning the best ways to cook the briskets more at this current point, and also the best ways to reheat and hold the briskets. Should I use butter, stock, or keep it dry? Open to the air or foil covered? The briskets are not needed until 9/4 and today is 9/2. Should I spend time cooking them a bit more tomorrow, cooling them down, and reheating them for a third time early on 9/4?

(My restaurant also has a Winston CVap Cooking & Holding machine, which controls humidity/vapor and air temperature).

Reactions: JLeonard