Taking way too longg. Why?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

liny818

Original poster
Apr 28, 2019
Hi ya'll! I am pretty new to smoking. I have only done a handful of pork butts and a few sides of salmon. Most recently I did a lamb neck which I am going to eat tonight. The first few butts I did was on my landlord's weber grill with the smokebox on the side. It worked well and I'd say at about 8-9 hours at 225-250 I was at 200-204 degrees internal with a nice, dark layer of bark, making for an awesome end product. Then I decided to up my game a bit and get a vertical smoker. I decided to go with the Pit Boss Grills vertical LP smoker. It works and holds temp well. The temperature gauge on the unit of course is not always accurate which is why I use a probe thermometer with two probes, one in the item being smoked and one just hanging out in the cabinet to monitor temp. I can really dial in the temp now that I am getting used to it and I have been keeping it a bit lower, say 215-225F.