Snake and Minion burn time and Temp data?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Deeez

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 14, 2021
Hi All, I hope this post finds you ALL well and having great smokes.
I was wondering if there is any data out there that tells us how long a snake or minion will burn for and at what temperatures for say a, 22" WSM or a 26" kettle?
Just thought it would be interesting to know as I did a cook with a snake and 2briquettes on the bottom and 1 on top between the 4 corners of the bottom ones and it stayed around 200f and I knew I had a lesson coming.

I know it may depend on what types of fuel your using ... I'm not a pro with wood and I cant get lumps here, so maybe for briquettes.
Anyway, just wanted to through that out there and thanks ahead for any input.

Reactions: JLeonard
This is based on a 26" Kettle . I did a test when I first got the 26 . Had never used the snake method before . I set it up with 2 on the bottom 1 on top . R.O. ridge charcoal .
20190901_163156.jpg
After about an hour . Sitting steady at 260 .
20190901_175636.jpg
I was so impressed by the even temp and slow burn , I extended the snake and put a 13 pound packer on . Ran at 260 for 8 hours . Finished in the oven .
Snake had plenty of life left .

These are from other smokes .
Pulled the meat from this burn after 10 hours at 260 . Still going strong .
The beginning was stacked 2/1 about 75% of the snake . At the end I stack coals in more of a pile , to make up for any stall or evap cooling that may be going on .
20190903_152441.jpg

Shorter cook setup . Something I do to start on all cooks . I light the snake and let it settle in .