No liquid coming out with a dry rub?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jrypka

Original poster
Nov 11, 2020
So I did a 12 lb belly with 1.5% salt, 1% sugar, and 0.25% curing salt. It’s been in the fridge for 5 days in a ziplock but I’m not getting any liquid out. I thought I was going to get liquid in the bag and I’d flip it every other day. Any idea why I’m not getting any liquid in the bag? My other attempts at bacon were with a brine and they turned out great, but this is my first attempt at dry cure. Thanks!

Reactions: JLeonard
I have a buckboard curing right now, and it isn't releasing a lot of liquid either. I been told by someone who knows a lot more about it than I do, not to worry about it, just let it ride. Got about 7 days to go on the cure.

I have a buckboard curing right now, and it isn't releasing a lot of liquid either. I been told by someone who knows a lot more about it than I do, not to worry about it, just let it ride. Got about 7 days to go on the cure.
I got some of Al's going also. With pork butt .87 cents and bacon so high giving it a go.

Reactions: DougE
I got some of Al's going also. With pork butt .87 cents and bacon so high giving it a go.
This is my first go at curing, so I chose pork butt because like you said, it's cheap. I figure if I'm gonna ruin something in the learning process, I'd rather it be a cheap piece of meat.

For my dry cured and bagged products I add a tablespoon or two of distilled water to the bags as a starter for the cure drawing liquid out of the meat. That said, I have seen various amounts of bag liquid and just attributed it to the meat itself.