MES 40 Digital Rebuild

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ianmkane1

Original poster
Dec 3, 2023
I have a Masterbuilt MES 40 with the typical temperature control problems, MB21072719. I'd like to try repairing rather than buying a whole new smoker right now.

Planning on replacing the control panel, heating element and maybe circuit board if necessary, but what about the temperature sensor?
My problem is the smoker "thinks" it's up to temp so won't turn the element on at times, when it's really riding about 30-50 degrees lower as verified by my multi-probe thermometer.

Does anyone have any advice on how to replace the temp sensor without pulling the back panel off? My control panel has the 4 wire + 2 wire for the included meat probe. I was thinking of abandoning the included meat probe as I use my own, and somehow using that wire to get a sensor connected to the new control panel since there's a gasketed access going right through the top of the cabinet under the controller.

I'm sure some of you guys here have done this, hopefully someone's got a tip for me. Thanks.

I'd tell you, but I think tallbm tallbm actually enjoys this topic more than anyone here :emoji_laughing:
Yeah, I've read his thread about changing to a PID unit, I was hoping to avoid that route at least for now.

The longer I've had this MES40, the more I wish I never got rid of the UDS I built and ran for years. That was the best smoker I ever had.

Simple rewire and add an Auber PID and your MES will be a beast.

And this is the PID:

Reactions: tallbm
I have a Masterbuilt MES 40 with the typical temperature control problems, MB21072719. I'd like to try repairing rather than buying a whole new smoker right now.