Hello From Minnesota

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Meat&BeerGuy

Original poster
Mar 7, 2018
Minnesota
Hello fellow meat smoking enthusiasts! I live in Minneapolis, MN and work for a local brewery in sales. I have been smoking meat on and off for a few years (mostly on a friend's Big Green Egg and a Weber Smoky Mountain I have up North at the family cabin). I am engaged and about to be married and buy a house with (hopefully) a nice big deck and that I intend to put a badass smoker/propane grill combo on (wedding gift from my pops hopefully, fingers crossed). My fiancee and I love to grill up chicken, salmon, burgers, veggies, etc on a whim and she is not the biggest fan of the charcoal set-up, thus the need for a propane feature. I prefer charcoal but if I am going to put a big piece of hardware in our new backyard/on the deck I need to compromise.... However, I love smoking brisket, ribs, pork, etc. and am looking for some guidance on what make/model would be best for us. I want to maximize surface area devoted to smoking but also have enough space over propane for an impromptu backyard BBQ with burgers and brats with neighbors/friends.... I have looked at some of the Smoke Hollow combo models, would love a Yoder but I don't think they do anything with Propane and pellets might be a tough sell to my fiancee.... Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Welcome! I think Smoke Hollow and Char-Griller are two of the only ones I know of that have the combo propane grill and charcoal smoker. Smoke Hollow has the offset firebox but the Char-Griller doesn't look like it does. Looks like you're cooking space is limited in the combo models.