Hello everyone, im s newbie here so please bear with me .

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Tonybsmokin

Original poster
May 19, 2020
Hi Y'all, I'm a meat eater, hope that's ok. Thinking about purchasing a smoker . I've used brinkman charcoal smokers and a meco electric smokers. I currently own a genesis 3 weber gas grill and a weber charcoal grill . I'm wanting a smoker that doesn't take up much room , because I'm running out of room. Maybe a vertical. Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated

I'm thinking up to around $400.00 . Was thinking electric but after reading reviews maybe propane. I need something big enough to cook 4 slabs of ribs , or a full brisket. Maybe even 2 pork butts

I'm not sure I want a starter , I'm thinking once I get one I want to keep it for awhile . And not go through the ( I wish I would have got something different first ). I have looked at the pit boss 5 , but the reviews aren't as good as I hoped

What pellet smoker did you get? I'm thinking the pb 5 . I have a friend that has one and never had a problem. I do like the electric smokers that have 2 doors as well. Put I dont think they are pellets, I believe chips.

I got the louisiana grills vertical smoker at costco. It is the same as the pit boss series 7. I have done several cooks on it and have had no issues. Temps run pretty close to the set temp. If you have any questions just pm me glad to answer any you have

Lot of MES users on here that have had their units for many many years, myself included. Some have done modifications and others very few to get it where they like for operation. An electric is going to be cheaper to operate. Good luck on your decision.