Dry meat struggles

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Matt champagne

Original poster
Dec 2, 2018
I am fairly new to smoking, I've done mayne around 6-7 cooks since I bought my smoker last year. I have a Masterbuilt SE ThermoTemp Smoker and every time I make something with the exception of chicken it comes out pretty dry and tough. I've done ribs a few times a pork shoulder and brisket a few times. Most recently i did a brisket. I always follow instruction recommendations. So for example for the brisket I put my rub on the night before, took it out of the fridge to allow internal temp to get close to room temp, ran the smoker at 200-225, only applied smoke for the first 6 hours, pulled it when internal temp hit 195, and wrapped it and let it rest in an insulated cooler for an hour. I'm lost as to why all my food comes out dry I follow directions pretty well. Looking for help and any insight on whats going on. My next move would be getba new smoker because maybe the model I got isnt very good

195 is too low for brisket. Shoot more for 203-205. But it's more about "probe tenderness" slide your probe in once you cross 198 or so from time to time and when it sticks in there like butter , that's when she's done.

Edit: plus you should ensure that all your thermos are reading accurately. The ones included on the smoker should generally be ignored. You may have been cooking at a lower temp than you thought

Is it a whole brisket or just the flat? Are you wrapping it after 6 hours? You can probably take the internal temp up to @200°.