Do I Need To Add Cure?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

610Drew

Original poster
Feb 28, 2024
I'm new to sausage making. I ground pork, mixed in spices, salt, and cure #1 but didn't have time to stuff. It's been in a Ziploc bag in my fridge for 3 days. Can I simply stuff it and continue? Or do I need to add more cure #1, stuff, and then cure 24 hours before smoking? I've searched online but have not been able to turn up a definitive answer so I would appreciate any insight.

Thanks!

Ah, so you want to make a smoke sausage. I say mix the cure in ASAP. Even if the sausage sits for a couple days it will be fine. But next time when you are making a sausage you want to smoke, mix the cure in with the seasoning. Then you can either rest in the fridge for a few days, or stuff and rest...either way is fine. It is ok to add a little water... matter of fact in this case it would be preferred. Add the cure #1 to the water (not hot water) to dissolve, then add a little ice to cool the water down, then mix into the meat paste. Be sure to extract porteins for a great bind.

Reactions: 610Drew
No defiantly do not add more cure. Put a damp towel over it while in fridge, it will keep your casing from drying out. Thank me later.

I see things that other people don’t

Hallucinations can cause confusion and stress and can have many causes. Whatever the reason, the sooner you seek help the better.

I need more beer, he still has not stuffed them yet.
Good advice when he does
🍻🍻

Reactions: 610Drew