or Connect
SmokingMeatForums.com › Groups › Sausage Makers › Discussions › Sausage Recipes and Resources

Sausage Recipes and Resources

post #1 of 23
Thread Starter 

The intent of this thread is to create a listing of online sausage recipes and resources and not a how-to thread. That being said, I will start with some of my favorites and edit this later when I have access to my bookmarks at home. Please feel free to add your own.


Recipes and instruction


Len Poli - http://lpoli.50webs.com/Sausage%20recipes.htm


Wedliny Domowe - http://www.wedlinydomowe.com/sausage-recipes


The Spicy Sausage - http://thespicysausage.com/sausagemakingrecipes.htm


Local Food Heroes - http://www.localfoodheroes.co.uk/index.php


Stuffers Supply Company - http://www.wwf5.com/stuffers.com/content/recipes/sausrecp.pdf


Northwest Smoking - http://web.archive.org/web/20010214020112/http:/home.att.net/~g.m.fowler/frame/Sausage1.htm


Hunter Angler - http://honest-food.net/cured-meat/fresh-sausages/


Let's Make Sausage - http://www.lets-make-sausage.com/index.html


Meat Processing Products - http://www.meatprocessingproducts.com/sausage-recipes.html


Sausage Debauchery - http://sausagedebauchery.blogspot.com/


Cured Meats - http://curedmeats.blogspot.com/


Portland Charcuterie Project - http://portlandcharcuterieproject.blogspot.com/


Onkel Heinz - http://www.onkelheinz.de/wurst.htm


ABZSpiez - http://www.abzspiez.ch/index.php?id=11


FAO - http://www.fao.org/docrep/010/ai407e/ai407e00.htm


OSU Sausage and processed meat formulations - https://kb.osu.edu/dspace/handle/1811/25224


Secrets of meat curing and sausage making - http://www.archive.org/details/secretsofmeatcur00bhelrich





Butcher & Packer - http://butcher-packer.com/


Mid-Western Research & Supply - http://www.midwesternresearch.com/


Sausage Maker - http://www.sausagemaker.com/


PS Seasoning - https://www.psseasoning.com/


Syracuse Casing Company - http://www.makincasing.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=EM419&Category_Code=2


Great American Spice Company - http://www.americanspice.com/


Savory Spice Shop - http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/


Dupey Equipment Co. - http://www.dupeyequipment.com/


Spices Etc. - http://www.spicesetc.com


Edited by solaryellow - 2/2/12 at 12:00pm
post #2 of 23
Thanks Joel.
post #3 of 23
Trying to read everything i can on sausage making.
This will help a lot .
post #4 of 23


post #5 of 23


post #6 of 23

excuse my ignorance but does a group work just as the rest of the forums where as this thread could be made into a sticky for quick reference?


Here's a couple more recipe sites. maybe they could be copied and pasted in your original list Joel? so they are altogether and not spread over a hundred posts?





post #7 of 23

Thanks, These Guys have good prices and at $5.99 for Shipping on all orders...They're hard to beat...JJ



post #8 of 23
Thread Starter 

I can put all the other suggestions into the first post to make them easier to find if you guys are ok with it.

post #9 of 23

please do.

post #10 of 23


Yes Joel please do your computer powers and make it easy for us old guys that still look for the on n off buttons on theses things. What was that charcuteria book or site that you told me about a while back.

post #11 of 23

Please Do...JJ

post #12 of 23

Great thread Joel.......  I usually dont do other recipes but Looking at all them........ I can hack them up with some ideas and come up with something really good I hope............



post #13 of 23

I have all those sites bookmarked. there is a lot of good methods and recipes on them!!!! thanks for posting


post #14 of 23
Originally Posted by Chef JimmyJ View Post

Thanks, These Guys have good prices and at $5.99 for Shipping on all orders...They're hard to beat...JJ



+1 these guys have great prices i bought my pink salt cure#1 from they had the best price on the whole net. now i got enough pink salt to last me for a couple of years!!!

post #15 of 23

Hey Joel 

Look at post 4 in this link. There might be a couple you don't have - it would be nice if we could get this into a WIKI or a STICKY linked to this group and get them all into one post 




post #16 of 23
Thread Starter 

Thanks for the input guys. First post has been updated.

post #17 of 23

An older friend,  Sonny Kanz and his brother used to make sausage here in New Braunfels using their old German family recipe. Simple but good.


This was Sonny Kanz’s grandfathers recipe circa 1850 or earlier from Germany. I was given this recipe by his wife after Sonny passed away several years ago. Sonny never would tell me. The saltpeter is a little hard to find around here.


50 lbs. Meat



5 oz black pepper = 1 oz per 10 lbs

1-1/4 lb salt = 4 oz per 10 lbs

½ teaspoon saltpeter

2-½ teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 oz red pepper




enjoy !


1-set casings for 50-60 links

post #18 of 23

Here is where i get my casings from. IMHO they are better than globe and Syracuse.





This spice place is right by me. They blend and mix right on site.



post #19 of 23

Great thread -- thanks!!

post #20 of 23
Thread Starter 

Updated with some of the links vagreys posted.

  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Sausage Makers
SmokingMeatForums.com › Groups › Sausage Makers › Discussions › Sausage Recipes and Resources